Institutional Diversity and Inclusion

Shades of X - Mission Statement

Shades of X logo

Stand in Solidarity with Shades of X

We, as faculty and staff of Xavier’s affinity group, Shades of X, assert our support for the many voices across the country and world who are protesting racism in all forms. We recognize the pain and trauma that have been inflicted on our communities of color as a result of ongoing systemic racial domination and violence. We are aware of the heavy toll that individualized acts of racism have taken on marginalized communities. We strongly oppose police violence perpetrated against black bodies. The killing of George Floyd is one of far too many tragedies that harken to the horrors of enslavement and Jim Crow, and to the continuing legacy of racial discrimination and oppression. We affirm the principles of equity and justice articulated in Fr. Graham’s recent letter to the Xavier community and commit to making Xavier an inclusive, equitable, and supportive environment for all. In accordance with our Jesuit values, we stand in solidarity with the protesters and all those who raise their voices against racism and oppression in the world.   

On Friday, June 12, 2020, Xavier’s Shades of X, invited the Xavier campus community to join them as a show our solidarity with the protesters. The protestors lined up along Victory Parkway starting at Dana (maintaining 6 feet distance). 

Photo of XU Students holding up BLM signs









The mission of Shades of X Affinity Group shall be to enhance the development and persistence of the Xavier University Nonwhite/Underrepresented community. Shades of X will also work with persons and/or organizations interested in creating and maintaining an environment conducive to racial and ethnic diversity at the university.

Shades of X shall accomplish this through the following objectives:

  1. Inform the Xavier community aware of issues and concerns to the Nonwhite/Underrepresented community.
  2. Ensure that the Nonwhite/Underrepresented community have the opportunity to make the fullest contribution to the mission of the university.
  3. Provide a forum that addresses issues and decisions that affect the Nonwhite/Underrepresented community.
  4. Encourage and promote the professional development and promotion of the entire Nonwhite/Underrepresented community: Promotion, tenure, and general advocacy.
  5. Establish and maintain cooperative working relationships with various university units, alumni, community groups, and Nonwhite/Underrepresented faculty and staff at other area colleges and universities as well as other Jesuit institutions.
  6. Educate the University community about all forms of racism and discrimination and multicultural issues.
  7. Aid Human Resources and Admissions in recruiting and retaining African American faculty, staff, and students.
  8. Assist the university with developing an institutional culture, climate, and environment at Xavier University conducive to the optimum growth and development of all its members. Additionally, to assist in the development of an ongoing institutional environmental assessment plan designed to measure the effectiveness of the institutional environment in responding to the needs of all its members and help modify or introduce new assessment instruments as required.

Chairs and Committees:

  • Audrey Calloway, Acting Chair
  • Joya Dillard, Chair, Student Engagement Committee
  • Minnie Catral and Supaporn Kradtrap. Co-Chairs, Professional Development Committee
  • Currently Vacant, Chair, Ambassador/Welcome/Socialization Committee
  • Megan Daily, Chair, Social/Event/Networking Committee