College of Arts and Sciences

Joan G. McDonald Award for Outstanding Teaching in the Sciences

Purpose of award

Established by Xavier alumnus Dr. Robert McDonald in honor of his late wife, this award is presented to faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in teaching across a variety of courses and over a number of semesters. Excellence in teaching is to be interpreted in the broad sense of the term to include activities outside the classroom such as availability to students, willingness to work individually with students, advising students, and ability to motivate students to pursue independent study or to participate in research. Excellence is demonstrated through student and peer evaluations.


Each year, tenured or tenure-track faculty members in the Biology, Chemistry, Physics departments who are at least in their third year of full-time teaching at Xavier are eligible.
Every second year, a participating faculty member or part-time faculty in the Biology, Chemistry, or Physics department will also be recognized with this award.

The Award

Tenured or tenure-track winners receive a $5000 cash award and $5000 in faculty development money. Participating faculty or part-time faculty winners receive a $2500 cash award and $2500 in faculty development money.


Any current or recent Xavier University student and any Biology, Chemistry, or Physics faculty member may nominate an eligible recipient.

In 2023-24, one award will be given to a full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty member, and one award will be given to a participating faculty or part-time faculty member.

Nominations must be received by 4:00 pm, March 18, 2024.

2023-24 McDonald Award Nomination Form


Past Award Recipients

Years Recipient(s)
1996-1997 Dr. Stanley Hedeen
1997-1998 Dr. Terrence Toepker
Ms. Mary Stroud
1998-1999 Dr. Barbara Hopkins
1999-2000 Dr. Edward Fenlon
Ms. Linda Heath
2000-2001 Dr. Dorothy Engle
2001-2002 Dr. Lisa Close-Jacob
Mr. Michael Gehner
2002-2003 Dr. Marco Fatuzzo
2003-2004 Dr. Daniel McLoughlin
Dr. Vimala Majeti
2004-2005 Dr. Steve Herbert
2005-2006 Dr. Carolyn Chambers
Dr. Roy Cohen
2006-2007 Dr. Craig Davis
2007-2008 Dr. Stephen C. Yerian
Mr. Neema Nourian
2008-2009 Dr. Charles Grossman
2009-2010 Dr. Richard Mullins
Dr. Pamela Roy
2010-2011 Dr. Jennifer Robbins
2011-2012 Dr. Linda Finke
Dr. Nancy Matre
2012-2013 Dr. Justin Link
2013-2014 Dr. Ann Ray
Dr. Mary Stroud
2014-2015 Dr. Dorothy Engle
2015-2016 Dr. Mollie McIntosh
Ms. Amy Bosch
2016-2017 Dr. Brent Blair
2017-2018 Dr. Stephen Mills
Dr. Greg Braun
2018-2019 Dr. Haider Raad
2019-2020 Dr. Jonathan Morris
Dr. Heather Balyeat
2020-2021 Dr. Ann Ray
2021-2022 Dr. Kat Morris
Dr. Adam Azman
2022-2023 Dr. Heidrun Schmitzer