Percussion Ensemble - "Coming Together"


6:30 PM until 8:30 PM

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Long Recital Hall


Free admission

The XU Percussion Ensemble will be performing works by a wide variety of composers while exploring various shades of minimalism. The program features two works by well-known minimalist Steve Reich, including “Music for Pieces of Wood” and the first movement of his seminal work “Drumming.” In addition to mallet ensembles by Alice Gomez and Australian composer Nigel Westlake, the ensemble will use expanded instrumentation for two works on the program. “Mediation” by ensemble director Brady Harrison uses not only a variety of mallet percussion instruments, but also multiple pianists, cello (realized on electronic keyboard), and two soprano vocalist. Paired with that will be Frederick Rzewski’s seminal work from 1972, Coming Together, with a mixed chamber ensemble of strings, winds, percussion, and piano featuring faculty guest artist Tom Sherwood. Mr. Sherwood will be reading the dramatic text that accompanies the work and is drawn from a personal letter written by prison inmate Samuel Melville, who was killed in the aftermath of the Attica prison riots of 1971. This minimalist exploration will be an evening of profound musical and spoken statements.

Save to calendar Back