Ohio Statewide Curfew
The following message was emailed to Xavier students on Wednesday, Nov. 18:
During his press conference on Tuesday, Nov. 17, Ohio Governor Mike DeWine shared that he was issuing a statewide curfew requiring Ohioans to stay home between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. The curfew begins on Thursday, Nov. 19 at 10:00 p.m. and will be in effect for 21 days. While additional details on the 21-day curfew are forthcoming, Xavier’s COVID-19 Task Force felt it important to share an update with the Xavier community.
What does the health order say?
It was shared during the press conference that the curfew will require Ohioans to stay home between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. There are exceptions for work, medical care, supplies (think gas or groceries), and emergencies. Governor DeWine was clear that the intent of the curfew is to reduce the number of person-to-person contacts. This article from the Cincinnati Enquirer may be helpful.
What is the impact on the Xavier community?
Xavier students in Ohio should stay home between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. The governor listed a number of exceptions, including work, medical care, supplies, and emergencies. He specifically mentioned that people could travel for food but should not be seated indoors (carry-out and drive-thru are okay). The intent of the order is to cut down on social gatherings to reduce the spread of COVID-19. If students do not need to be out, stay in.
In general, students can consider Xavier’s campus as their “home.” For example, if a student is in an academic building on campus, they may remain there after 10:00 p.m., but they must return to their residence when leaving. Carry-out food service will continue to be available after 10:00 p.m. at Currito and in Gallagher Student Center. Students who live off campus should return to their home by 10:00 p.m. or return there immediately if leaving campus after 10:00 p.m.
What are the potential consequences for violating the curfew?
According to reporting in the Enquirer, “The penalty is the same as under all other health orders: a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $750 fine.” Xavier students who are documented for being in violation of this state order will be referred to the student conduct process and may face fines and other educational sanctions.
What is the guidance on complying with the curfew order?
Stay home after 10:00 p.m., understanding some of the exceptions listed above. Just as important as the curfew start time at 10:00 p.m. is the message of limiting social gatherings. Stay in. Don’t host or attend parties. Limit close contacts and keep your friend group small.