Cincinnati is located about 1000 km southwest of New York City, and shares the same approximate latitude as Lisbon, Palermo, Athens and Pyongyang. The Cincinnati metropolitan area consists of a 15-county, three-state region centered on the north bank of the Ohio River at the Ohio and Kentucky border with the Indiana border located just a few kilometers west. Xavier University is located in the heart of the city and covers approximately 180 acres.