The mission of the Sustainability Committee is to guide the university to meet the President's Commitment to carbon neutrality and to raise awareness and knowledge of sustainability across all its parts.

The committee is comprised of faculty, students, and staff:



Nancy Bertaux

Sustainability Committee Co-Chair
Economics Professor


Mark Hanlon

Sustainability Committee Co-Chair

Director, Utilities and Energy - Physical Plant


Cheryl McElroy

Assistant Director, Grant Services


Mollie McIntosh

Assistant Professor, Biology


Mary Lisa Vertuca

Early Childhood Education Cohort Director, Education



Margaret Groeschen

Campus Liaison Librarian, McDonald Library



Chris Marshall

Manager, Gallagher Student Center and Commuter Services



Alexandra Roman-Gonzalez

Administrative Assistant II, Sustainability Academic Programs


Student Sustainability Interns

Jonathon Duffy, Class of 2019

Margot Bond, Class of 2020

Michael Smith, Class of 2020

Emma Brandt, Class of 2021