The following information may be useful in writing descriptions of Xavier University for grant applications. Please note:  the information is accurate as of September 15, 2014.  For more recent information, contact Cheryl McElroy ext. 1909 or

























  • Founded in 1831, Xavier University is a private, coeducational institution.  Xavier is the third largest independent institution in Ohio, the sixth oldest Catholic university in the nation, and one of 28 Jesuit colleges and universities nationwide.  The University offers 90 undergraduate majors, 58 undergraduate minors, 20 masters programs, one doctoral program and seven certificate programs.  These degree programs are offered within three colleges:  Arts and Sciences; Social Sciences, Health and Education; and the Williams College of Business.  In the 2013-14 fall semester, Xavier had an enrollment of 4,453 undergraduates and 2,019 graduate students.  Xavier's student body, including graduate students, is drawn from 46 states and 3 territories, as well as 51 foreign countries.

























  • Xavier is a Jesuit Catholic university rooted in the liberal arts tradition. Our mission is to educate each student intellectually, morally, and spiritually. We create learning opportunities through rigorous academic and professional programs integrated with co-curricular engagement. In an inclusive environment of open and free inquiry, we prepare students for a world that is increasingly diverse, complex and interdependent. Driven by our commitment to the common good and to the education of the whole person, the Xavier community challenges and supports students as they cultivate lives of reflection, compassion and informed action.