Xavier students win national Rooftop Comedy College Competition for funniest film in the country

The final four films of more than 200 submissions were screened in Aspen, Colo., on June 13 | June 16, 2009

A film by Beards of Industry comedy filmmakers Reid Faylor, Andrew Short and LaMar Ford was named the winner of Rooftop Comedy’s National College Funny Film Competition in Aspen, Colo., on Saturday, June 13. The Film, “Danny and the Page,” survived six rounds of judging by both popular voting and professional filmmakers to emerge the winner of the final four selections in Aspen.

The four-minute film is about a 16th-century page in Renaissance clothing who visits young Danny, a college student, with the intention of hanging out with him for a day. They become great friends, but then the page remembers what he really came to do. Matt Ackels appears as Danny.

The video can be seen at rooftopcomedy.com/college/funnyfilm.

Xavier juniors Faylor and Short formed the Beards of Industry in August 2008 with recent graduate Connor Lynch and Ford. They have produced more than 16 films which were broadcast on Xavier’s Muskie TV throughout the school year. Several works have been featured on RooftopComedy.com and can be viewed there and at FunnyorDie.com and Youtube.com.

As part of Xavier’s Television Club, made up of both electronic media majors and non-majors, the Beards of Industry has continually taken its dry humor to a level of professionalism that is now being recognized nationally. Xavier’s sketch comedy group is student-run from start to finish.

The Beards of Industry members were invited to Aspen after their film was voted one of the top four funniest college films among more than 200 entries from college students nationwide. Xavier senior Ford and juniors Faylor and Short went to Aspen on June 11 to view the screening of the four films. “Danny and the Page” was the winner in a nationwide vote.

Short of Miamisburg, Ohio, is majoring in English with minors in international studies and gender and diversity studies. Faylor of Fort Wayne, Ind., is a chemical science major. Ford of Indianapolis is an electronic media major.