Xavier University School of Social Work Recognition

May 7, 2011

On May 1, Xavier University in Cincinnati inducted 16 students into the Rho Lambda Chapter of the Phi Alpha National Social Work Honor Society. Each received a certificate, pin, and medallion to wear at graduation and will enjoy lifetime membership in the honor society.

(41075) Felicia Marie Foley of Fort Thomas, KY
(45013) Kristy Nicole Riffell of Hamilton
(45140) Elizabeth Margret Torrison of Loveland
(45213) Anna Wnek of Cincinnati
(45230) Patricia Sexton of Cincinnati
(45243) Amanda Juliann Mock 0f Cincinnati

(31411) Michelle Catherine Verwiel of Savannah, GA
(37064) Jenna Hippensteel of Franklin, TN
(43147) Katherine Theresa Nelson of Pickerington, OH
(43160) Ashley Lynn Marine of Washington Court House, OH
(44236) Hannah Elizabeth Dahlby of Hudson, OH
(45415) Brelyse L. McKenzie of Dayton
(45806) Tara R. Immele of Lima, OH
(46220) Jennifer Hamilton of Indianapolis
(46228) Rochelle L. Briscoe of Indianapolis
(75208) Claire Elizabeth O’Connor of Dallas

Inductees are junior and senior social work majors who have completed 8 semester hours of required social work courses. They must have at least a 3.25 GPA in their required social work coursework and a 3.0 overall GPA. Both the Dean of the College of Social Sciences, Health, and Education, Dr. Mark Meyers, and the department’s senior faculty member, Dr. Carolyn Jenkins, addressed the attendees.

On April 14, Xavier University senior Tara Immele of Lima was honored as the Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) Student of the Year for Cincinnati Region VI of the NASW - Ohio Chapter. The new OH-NASW Emerging Leader Award was presented to Annie Davis (Xavier class of 2009) for her advocacy work at the local and state level. Kevin Finn, MSW (Xavier class of 1995) was selected as the OH-NASW Region VI Social Worker of the Year. He is the Executive Director of Cincinnati/Hamilton County Continuum of Care for the Homeless and also serves on the Community Advisory Board of the social work department.