Missouri, Indiana, and Wisconsin Natives Chosen to Lead Xavier Student Government

February 15, 2013

Xavier University held elections for its Student Government Association (SGA) executives from February 3rd - 14th. Voters could choose from three slates of candidates for president, administrative vice president and legislative vice president. The winning slate chosen by 1,365 voters is:

(63303) Drew Dziedzic, 20, is president-elect of Student Government Association. A sophomore from St Charles, he is the son of Daniel and Charla Dziedzic and graduated from St. Louis University High School. At Xavier, he is in the Philosophy, Politics, and the Public honors program. Drew has served on Student Government for the last two years, while interning on Mitt Romney's presidential campaign and Ann Wagner's congressional campaign.

(46226) Keenan Collins, 21, is administrative vice president-elect. A junior from Indianapolis, he is the son of Catheran Lang and Willie (Jay) Collins and graduated from Cathedral High School. At Xavier he is majoring in psychology with a minor in business. He has played on the Club Football Team, and has served on the Student Government Association, Student Activities Council, and the XU Dance Marathon Board among other activities

(53217) Markus Lasky, 20, is legislative vice president-elect. A junior from Whitefish Bay, he is the son of Noni and Tom Lasky and graduated from Marquette University High School. At Xavier, he is majoring in English with three minors. He is on the Alternative Breaks Board of Directors, serves as a leadership intern in the office of Student Involvement, is a Xavier basketball committee member and is a student caller for the Annual Fund.

The new team will be sworn into office in early April. They have plans to improve study abroad so that more students can experience another culture and challenge themselves. They want Xavier traditions that create lasting friendships to be systematized and continued. And the team wants to keep improving Xavier so that current and future students can become part of its “awesome community.”