Local talented teachers are recognized by an educational partnership that includes Xavier

The 3-C Oustanding Cincinnati USA Teacher Awards are being presented with the Cincinnatus awards | March 3, 2010

The recipients of the 3-C Outstanding Cincinnati USA Teacher Awards and the Cincinnatus Association Awards are being honored at an invitation-only dinner at 6:00 p.m., March 8, at the Mayerson Academy, located at 2650 Highland Ave. in Corryville. University of Cincinnati President Gregory H. Williams is the featured speaker.

The 3-C awards are presented by the six-year “Conversations, Connections, Collaborations” partnership, which is led by the presidents of the University of Cincinnati, Xavier University and Northern Kentucky University, as well as the Cincinnatus Association. The Cincinnatus Association is a civic organization dedicated to supporting education, community planning and urban development.

The awards recognize the excellence of area teachers who demonstrate exceptional knowledge of their subject material, who foster student success both in and out of the classroom, who actively participate in their school communities beyond their teaching duties, who continue to develop their teaching excellence and who demonstrate active involvement in their community.

“Our winners are educators who believe in—and who practice—principles that work, beginning with hands-on, active learning that doesn’t rely on textbooks alone,” says Bill Scheyer, president of Cincinnatus. “Creative. Innovative. Those two words show up again and again when their colleagues describe our winners. They inspire. They come to work with contagious enthusiasm.

“Cincinnatus has always sought to be on the side of those who guide our region to a prosperous future where the quality of life and the promise of economic opportunity are unparalleled,” Scheyer says. “Nothing offers more assurance of that future than education. And nothing offers more assurance of excellence in education than excellent teachers. So, with our partners at Northern Kentucky University, Xavier University and the University of Cincinnati, we’re proud to shine a light for the community on these spectacular educators.”

The awards are:

The James N. Jacobs Award for Outstanding Administration in Cincinnati Public Schools is named in honor of the former Cincinnati Public Schools Superintendent – serving from 1976 to 1985 – who initiated alternative programs designed to improve student performance in math and reading. Award recipient Craig Hockenberry, principal of Oyler School, received numerous nominations for the honor. Hockenberry was praised as a pillar of the Lower Price Hill community, creating a high school in the community to prevent dropouts. Oyler graduates its first senior class this spring.

The John E. Pepper Award for Outstanding Volunteer in Public Education for Cincinnati Public Schools is named for the retired chairman and CEO of Procter & Gamble and co-chair of the Board of Directors for the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center—one of the community leaders who founded the Cincinnati Youth Collaborative, a partnership dedicated to reducing the dropout rate in Cincinnati Public Schools. The award recipient is Bill Hutchinson, a dedicated volunteer with Project Connect/Faces Without Places, a program that assists children experiencing homelessness and keeps them connected to their education. Hutchinson was praised for dedicating years of service to helping children experiencing homelessness in Cincinnati Public Schools.

The Cincinnatus/Woodward Trust Distinguished Teacher Award for Cincinnati Public Schools goes to Kathy Mitchell, a special education lead teacher at Roselawn Condon School. Mitchell received numerous nominations for her dedication to reaching every student and helping students with disabilities find their independence. A 29-year veteran of teaching, she was praised not only for serving her students in first-through-third grades, but also for mentoring other teachers in her department. Her classroom was praised as a nurturing environment where true learning takes place.

The recipients of the 3-C Awards are James M. Allison Jr., a ninth-grade science teacher at Loveland High School, Joseph R. Cordonnier, a high-school social studies teacher at Villa Madonna Academy in Villa Hills, Ky., who has made history come alive with chariot races on school grounds, and Julie W. Rash, an 11th grade English teacher at Beechwood High School in Ft. Mitchell, Ky.