Evanston Memorial Day Parade to Feature Unveiling of King Studios Song

Free CDs of Withrow Student"s Song to be Distributed | May 21, 2010

On May 31, the Evanston Community Council will sponsor a community Memorial Day Parade from 10 am-12 pm beginning at the Academy of World Languages at 2030 Fairfax Avenue and making a 2-mile loop through the community. All are invited to this free event.

Bootsy Collins and Philip Paul, former King Records musicians, will ride on a float designed to look like a soundstage. School mascots from all the institutions in Evanston: The Educating Community will participate, as will the Masons, local politicians, and the Red Cross, which is opening a new headquarters in Evanston. Two large bands will march – Urban Centric and Detroit National, a young adult band from Detroit.

After the parade, a new song celebrating the King Records rebirth will be unveiled. Free CDs will be distributed to those in attendance.

The King Experience Group, a subcommittee of the King Studios project offered a contest entitled, “What are the lyrics to your song?” for students from Hoffman-Parham and Withrow Schools. The group selected the lyric “Funky Fresh” by Danielle David, a 17-year-old senior at Withrow High School. The music was created in collaboration with Philip Paul, a drummer with the old King Records, and Steve Boller, a Xavier University music student.

Branden Criss, 20, was selected to record the song at Ultrasuede Studios. Criss is a 2009 graduate of Withrow, currently studying at the University of Cincinnati.

Parade marchers will carry banners with lyrics from the runner-up song entry by Brittany Hargrave, also of Withrow.

For more information about the parade or about the King Studios project, please call 513-745-3263.

The current board members for the King Studios project are:
Bootsy Collins, Byron White, Anzora Adkins, Jim Tarbell, Philip Paul, Juanita Paul, Russell Driver, Liz Blume, Pickett Slater Harrington, and Brian Powers.
The King Experience Group members include:
Jonathon Gibson, Kelly Phelps, Philip Paul, Juanita Paul, Corey Parker, Mike Wade, Christine Anderson, Steve Boller, Patrick Tunney, Tom Merrill, Jon Curley and Daria Branham.