Xavier, University of Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky University honor math and science teachers

Outstanding teachers from local elementary, middle and high schools are being recognized at a May 11 awards dinner at UC | May 2, 2007

They’re shaping the future of our children and the nation as they work on the front lines of competing in a global economy. Yet, they’re not in Washington, they’re not in the statehouse, but instead, they’re at the front of our local classrooms, fueling the interests and passions of our youngest scholars. Nine of these leaders from K-12 classrooms in Southwest Ohio and Northern Kentucky are being honored at a special awards dinner and ceremony beginning at 6:00 p.m., Friday, May 11, at the Kingsgate Conference Center at the University of Cincinnati.

The Outstanding Mathematics and Science Teachers Awards Dinner is presented by the partnership called “Conversations, Connections, Collaborations,” or C3. Now in its third year, the partnership—led by the presidents of UC, Xavier and Northern Kentucky University—recognizes the excellence of area K-12 teachers in math and science.

The teachers were nominated by their principals for not only showing extraordinary skill in the classroom, but also for their involvement in their home communities.

The awards are being presented to three area math teachers and six local science teachers:

* George Christoph, Pendleton County Memorial High School, Falmouth, Ky. (9th-12th grades)
* Michele Head, Immaculate Heart of Mary School, Cincinnati (7th and 8th grades)
* William J. Losekamp, McNicholas High School, Cincinnati (9th-12th grades)
* Vicki Boschert, Purcell Marian High School, Cincinnati (10th-12th grades)
* Sharon Cross, Twenhofel Middle School, Independence, Ky. (6th grade)
* Jennifer P. Hickey, Willowville Elementary, Batavia, Ohio (5th grade)
* Erin Pleiman, Dayton High School, Dayton, Ky. (9th, 10th and 12th grades)
* Paul Schember, Norwood Middle School, Cincinnati (8th grade)
* Kathy Schlachter, St. Joseph Elementary School, Crescent Springs, Ky. (3rd grade)

The keynote speaker for the 2007 awards dinner is Julian M. Earls, co-chair of the Science and Mathematics Education Policy Advisory Council and former director of the NASA Glenn Research Center.

“These are the quiet heroes who work everyday inside and outside of the classroom to teach, guide and nurture our children, our future leaders,” says Xavier University President Michael J. Graham, S.J. “Xavier University is extremely proud to play a role in recognizing the great and important work of these math and science teachers.”