Michael Graham, S.J., elected president of A-10 Presidents' Council

Graham serving two-year appointment beginning with 2005-2006 season, A-10's 30th anniversary | June 1, 2005

University President Michael J. Graham, S.J., was elected last week in Philadelphia as the new president of the Atlantic 10 Conference Presidents' Council. His two-year term takes effect immediately.

"I am honored that the presidents of the Atlantic 10 Conference have selected me to represent them,” Graham says. "I look forward to working with each of the presidents and Commissioner Linda Bruno as the Atlantic 10 embarks on this exciting time in its history."

On July 1, the Atlantic 10 Conference is officially growing to 14 institutions when the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and Saint Louis University become full members. In addition, the 2005-2006 season marks the 30th anniversary season of the Atlantic 10, which began in 1976 as the Eastern Collegiate Basketball League.

The president's council is the ultimate governing body of the Atlantic 10 Conference. The president of the council provides direction to the presidents as they assist the commissioner with the overall management of the conference.

Graham, who became president of Xavier on Jan. 1, 2001, replaces George Washington University president Stephen Joel Trachhtenberg as president of the A-10's President's Council.