Virtual Lab/PC Q&A

Q:    What is Virtual Lab/PC (the "Online Lab")?

A: It's a desktop PC that is delivered in real time to your computing device (supported Windows, Mac, Ubuntu Linux operating systems, Apple iOS and Android tablets/phones).  The Online Lab provides access to specialty software including SPSS, SAS, and Microsoft Office 2010, and other applications found on our open lab computers.

 Q:    How do I Log-In to a Virtual Lab/PC?

A: From a web browser, visit  You have 2 options for connecting - from within your web browser or using the VMware View Client.  The web based virtual desktop requires no installation. However, the VMWare View Client offers superior performance and allows you to connect a USB drive to save your work. Client installation instructions can be found in this KB article.

Q:       Who can access Virtual Lab/PC?

A: All current faculty, staff, and registered students can access the Online Lab.

Q:       Can I store data or files on Virtual Lab/PC?

A: Once logged in, you will have access to your network drives. If connected using the VmWare View Client, you can also use a USB flash drive to save your data. Similar to our physical computer labs, any data saved on the Virtual PC will be purged at log off.  Make sure that all data is backed up to a network drive, OneDrive, or USB device before logging off. 

Q:      What happens to the contents of my desktop when I log off or disconnect?

A: Anything saved to the desktop (or other places on the C:\ drive) will permanently disappear when you log off from the virtual session. Data is unrecoverable once this occurs!

Q:       Can I print my output or results from the Virtual Lab/PC?

A: Printing can be sent to the Follow-You print queue, where it can be released at one of our release stations, in the following locations. If you want to print to different print queue, you will need to save your work and then print it from a different system that is setup with that printer.

Q:       Is there a time limit associated with the Virtual Lab/PC?

A: There is not a maximum time limit; however your session will be logged out after 15 minutes of inactivity. If the session disconnects abnormally, reconnecting will return you to the interrupted session --  as long as the reconnection takes place in less than 10 minutes.  It is highly recommended that you frequently save your work to network or USB drives..