Charlotte Towle Award

According to NASW ( (2011),

Charlotte Towle's major accomplishments include her work in creating a generic casework curriculum, her study of the educational process of training social workers and other professionals in human service, and her attempts to link the understanding of human behavior and needs with the administration of public assistance and other public programs.

...Towle deeply influenced the profession of social work through the development of a client-centered casework curriculum which enabled all social workers to secure knowledge of human behavior in a variety of ways... Towle published extensively including sixty-nine articles and three books. ...Towle provided consultation to several government agencies including the Veterans Administration and the National Institute of Mental Health and was a member of the Social Work Advisory Committee to the Committee on Advancement of Psychiatry of the American Psychiatric Association.

This award is presented annually to the senior(s) in social work who has demonstrated high academic achievement and professional ethics. Recipients:

            1989    Maria Lockhorn

                        Linda Young-Newhouse

                        Paula Sellars

            1990    Maureen Ryan

                        Sr. Donna Wisowaty

            1991    Christine Hoekzema

            1992    Elisabeth Kehoe

                        Brian Martens

            1993    Anne Wightman

            1994    Vicky Gura

                        Mary Richards-Smith

            1995    Catherine Conole

                        Amy Harpenau

            1996    Julie Schirmer

            1997    Jessica Garlock

                        Michelle Hamm

            1998    Elizabeth Curtis

            1999    Kristin Waning

            2000    Katie Wohlfarth

            2001    Dana Bright

                        Daniel Morris

                        Angela Staubach

            2002    Amy Krings

                        Julie Tegni

            2003    Nichole Moorman

                        Molly Robertshaw

            2004    Carin Garrett

            2005    Lauren Tipton

            2006    Clair Boyle

                        Sarah Scheibe

                        Timothy Severyn

            2007    Megan Sargeant

            2008    Lauren Hendrickson

            2009    Jessica Pasionek

            2010    Joseph Herbers

            2011    Claire O?Connor

  2012    Elizabeth M. Torrison

  2013    Erica L. O'Connell

The photo is from the 2013 Honors Assembly with our Charlotte Towle Winner and the GDST Studies Minor Award - The Corilliam Honors - A certificate conferred upon a senior woman who has demonstrated excellence in courses related to women's studies. 


Ohio Chapter NASW  Region VI (Cincinnati)

According to the NASW Region VI 2011 Annual Awards Program Brochure,

The National Association of Social Workers is the largest and most recognized membership organization of professional social workers in the world, representing 150,000 members from 56 chapters in the United States and abroad. The Association promotes, develops, and protects the practice of social work and social workers. NASW also seeks to enhance the well-being of individuals, families, and communities through its work and advocacy. Ohio Chapter, Region VI includes Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, Lawrence, Pike, Scioto, and Warren counties in southwest Ohio.

Xavier University, social work student recipients of the NASW Region VI, B.S.W. Student of the Year Award include:

            2011    Tara Immele

            2009    Amanda Kazmierski

            2008    Laura Hendrickson

            2007    Jessie Fullenkamp

            2002    Amy Krings

            2001    Dana Bright



Lauren Hendrickson (Class of 2008) was named the Ohio NASW Bachelors of Social Work (BSW) Student of the Year for 2008. Lauren is pictured here with Shelagh Larkin (left), Xavier social work faculty member.







Below are photos from the Ohio National Association of Social Workers (NASW) awards ceremony.

Amanda Kazmierski

Amanda Kazmierski (Class of 2009) was named the Ohio NASW Bachelors of Social Work (BSW) Student of the Year for 2009.

All 2009 Ohio NASW award winners are also pictured.

Tara Immele (Class of 2011, pictured far right) was named the Ohio NASW Bachelors of Social Work (BSW) Student of the Year for 2011.