Xavier University
2000-2001
Experts Media Guide


Table of Contents

(by subject)
[A] [B] [C] [D] [E] [F] [G] [H] [I] [J] [K]
[L] [M] [N] [O] [P] [Q] [R] [S] [T] [U] [V] [W] [X] [Y] [Z]

H

Health Care
Higher Education Issues
History
Human Resources


























Health Care

Canadian Health Care
Dr. Jack Reamy
Associate Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-4396
Reamy@xavier.xu.edu

Community Health and Epidemiology
Dr. Martin MacDowell
Associate Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-4397
MacDowel@xavier.xu.edu

Competition in Health Care
Dr. Martin Gerowitz
Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-3393
Gerowitz@xavier.xu.edu

Effects of Acute Head Injury
Dr. Kathleen Hart
Professor, Psychology
513 745-3278
513 745-3278
Hartk@xavier.xu.edu

Financing Health Care
Dr. Martin Gerowitz
Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-3393
Gerowitz@xavier.xu.edu

Genetic Counseling
Fr. Robert C. Baumiller, S.J.
Associate Dean, Health Education Programs
513 745-2870
Baumiller@xavier.xu.edu

Global Perspective of Health Care Reform
Dr. Marie Giblin
Associate Professor, Theology
513 745-2021
Giblin@xavier.xu.edu

Health Care Marketing
Dr. Tom Hayes
Professor, Marketing
513 745-3059
Hayes@admin.xu.edu

Health Care Reform
Mrs. Linda Rieg
Associate Professor, Nursing
513 745-1009
Rieg@xavier.xu.edu

Healthy Lifestyles
Dr. Oliver "Tony" Birckhead
Director, Xavier Health and Counseling Center
Director, Xavier Wellness Team
513 745-3022
Birckhea@admin.xu.edu
Wellness@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Susan Schmidt
Chair/Associate Professor, Nursing
513 745-1913
Schmidts@xavier.xu.edu

HMO’s
Dr. Dan Geeding
Director, Center for International Business
Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3529
Geeding@admin.xu.edu

Dr. Martin Gerowitz
Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-3393
Gerowitz@xavier.xu.edu

Hospital Management
Dr. Martin Gerowitz
Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-3393
Gerowitz@xavier.xu.edu

Managed Health Care
Dr. Dan Geeding
Director, Center for International Business
Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3529
Geeding@admin.xu.edu

Dr. Martin MacDowell
Associate Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-4397
MacDowel@xavier.xu.edu

Dr. Ida Critelli Schick
Chair, Graduate Programs in Health Services Administration
513 745-3716
Schicki@xavier.xu.edu

Medical Ethics
Fr. Robert C. Baumiller, S.J.
Associate Dean, Health Education Programs
513 745-2870
Baumiller@xavier.xu.edu

Medical Genetics
Fr. Robert C. Baumiller, S.J.
Associate Dean, Health Education Programs
513 745-2870
Baumiller@xavier.xu.edu

Medicare Reimbursement
Dr. Bob Hankins
Assistant Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-3690
Hankins@xavier.xu.edu

Mental Health
Dr. Oliver "Tony" Birckhead
Director, Xavier Health and Counseling Center
Director, Xavier Wellness Team
513 745-3022
Birckhea@admin.xu.edu
Wellness@admin.xu.edu

Dr. Christine Dacey
Professor, Psychology
513 745-1033
Dacey@xavier.xu.edu

Middle Aged and Elderly
Ms. Susan Schmidt
Chair/Associate Professor, Nursing
513 745-1913
Schmidts@xavier.xu.edu

National Health Insurance
Dr. Martin Gerowitz
Professor, Health Services Administration
513 745-3393
Gerowitz@xavier.xu.edu

Obesity/Weight Reduction
Dr. Norman Barry
Professor, Psychology
513 745-1036
Barryn@xavier.xu.edu

Occupational Hazards
Ms. Susan Schmidt
Chair/Associate Professor, Nursing
513 745-1913
Schmidts@xavier.xu.edu

Privacy and Confidentiality
Dr. Ida Critelli Schick
Chair, Graduate Program in Health Services Administration
513 745-3716
Schicki@xavier.xu.edu

Reproductive Genetics
Fr. Robert C. Baumiller, S.J.
Associate Dean, Health Education Programs
513 745-2870
Baumiller@xavier.xu.edu

Role of Nurses in Health Care
Dr. Phyllis Augspurger
Associate Professor, Nursing
513 745-3045
Augspurg@xavier.xu.edu

Ms. Susan Schmidt
Chair/Associate Professor, Nursing
513 745-1913
Schmidts@xavier.xu.edu

Spiritual Care in Nursing
Ms. Hilreth Lanig
Assistant Professor, Nursing
513 745-3816

Stroke Victims
Dr. Lin Guo
Assistant Professor, Graduate Program in Health Services Administration
513 745-3268
Guo@xavier.xu.edu



Higher Education

Adjustment to College Life
Ms. Beth Roeseler
Counselor, Health and Counseling
513 745-3022
Roeseler@xavier.xu.edu

Admissions
Mr. Marc Camille
Dean, Office of Admission
513 745-2943
Camillem@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Lisa Wendel
Associate Director, Office of Admission
513 745-2945
Wendel@admin.xu.edu

Career Planning
Ms. Stephanie Bates
Director, Career Services Center
513 745-4877
Bates@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Patrice Reider
Career Counselor, Career Services Center
513 745-4882
Reider@admin.xu.edu

College Search Process
Mr. Marc Camille
Dean, Office of Admission
513 745-2943
Camillem@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Lisa Wendel
Associate Director, Office of Admission
513 745-2945
Wendel@admin.xu.edu

Commuter Students
Dr. Luther Smith
Executive Director, Student Services
513 745-4894
Smithl@xavier.xu.edu

Financial Aid
Mr. Paul Calme
Director, Financial Aid
513 745-4257
Calme@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Kim Jeffers
Associate Director, Financial Aid
513 745-2993
Jeffers@admin.xu.edu

Freshman Retention
Mr. Adrian Schiess
Director, Retention Services
513 745-3036
Schiess@admin.xu.edu

Higher Education and Computers
Ms. Dorinda Giles
Associate Vice President, Technology Services
513 745-4855
Giles@admin.xu.edu

Inclusion on a College Campus
Dr. Lee Hamill
Assistant Professor, Special Education Programs
513 745-1076
Hamill2@xavier.xu.edu

Learning Assistance for College Students
Ms. Sarah Kelly
Director, Learning Assistance Center
513 745-3280
Kellys@xavier.xu.edu

Marketing Higher Education
Dr. Tom Hayes
Professor, Marketing
513 745-3059
Hayes@admin.xu.edu

Non-Traditional Students
Dr. Jane Link
Academic Advisor/Recruiter, Center for Adult and Part-Time Students
513 745-2975
Link@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Mary Kay Meyer
Director, Weekend Degree Program
513 745-3030
Meyermk@admin.xu.edu

Ms. Sue Wideman
Dean, Center for Adult and Part-Time Students
513 745-3356
Wideman@admin.xu.edu

Preparing for College (middle school-12th grade)
Ms. Doris Jackson
Director/Academic Advising
513 745-2977
Jacksond@admin.xu.edu

Student Life
Dr. Ron Slepitza
Vice President, Student Development
513 745-3166
Slepitza@admin.xu.edu

Underage Drinking
Dr. Ron Slepitza
Vice President, Student Development
513 745-3166
Slepitza@admin.xu.edu



History

1950’s: Unhappy Days: Fear in the 50’s
Dr. John Fairfield
Professor, History
513 745-3660
Fairfiel@xavier.xu.edu

African History
Dr. Kathleen Smythe
Assistant Professor, History
513 745-3279
Smythe@xavier.xu.edu

African-American History
Dr. Tyrone Williams
Chair/Associate Professor, English
513 745-2014
Williams@xavier.xu.edu

Catholic History
Dr. Walker Gollar
Assistant Professor, Theology
513 745-4373
Gollar@xavier.xu.edu

Cincinnati History
Dr. John Fairfield
Professor, History
513 745-3660
Fairfiel@xavier.xu.edu

Dr. Walker Gollar
Assistant Professor, Theology
513 745-4373
Gollar@xavier.xu.edu

Dr. Paul Simon
Professor, History
513 745-2942
Simon@admin.xu.edu

Church History
Dr. Gillian Ahlgren
Associate Professor, Theology
513 745-4247
Ahlgren@xavier.xu.edu

Colonial America
Mr. Karim Tiro
Assistant Professor, History
513 745-2039
Tiro@xavier.xu.edu

Dropping the Atomic Bomb
Dr. Richard Gruber
Associate Professor, History
513 745-3825
Gruber@admin.xu.edu

Early American History
Dr. Roger Fortin
Chair/Professor, History
513 745-3538
Fortin@admin.xu.edu

Mr. Karim Tiro
Assistant Professor, History
513 745-2039
Tiro@xavier.xu.edu

English History
Fr. John LaRocca, S.J.
Professor, History
513 745-2038
Larocca@xavier.xu.edu

Irish History
Dr. Richard Gruber
Associate Professor, History
513 745-3825
Gruber@admin.xu.edu

Dr. Tim White
Associate Professor, Political Science/Sociology
513 745-2997
White@xavier.xu.edu

History of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits)
Fr. John LaRocca, S.J.
Professor, History
513 745-2038
Larocca@xavier.xu.edu

Fr. Leo Klein, S.J.
Vice President for Spiritual Development
513 745-3777

Fr. George Traub, S.J.
Associate Professor, Theology/Director, Ignatian Programs
513 745-3661

The Inquisition
Dr. Gillian Ahlgren
Associate Professor, Theology
513 745-4247
Ahlgren@xavier.xu.edu

Native American History
Mr. Karim Tiro
Assistant Professor, History
513 745-2039
Tiro@xavier.xu.edu

Reformation
Fr. John LaRocca, S.J.
Professor, History
513 745-2038
Larocca@xavier.xu.edu

Russian History
Dr. Alexandra Korros
Professor, History
513 745-2040
Korros@admin.xu.edu

Russian Jewish History
Dr. Alexandra Korros
Professor, History
513 745-2040
Korros@admin.xu.edu

Societal Changes in the Post-War Period
Dr. Christine Anderson
Assistant Professor, History
513 745-4246
Andersch@xavier.xu.edu

Societal History of Cincinnati Women
Dr. Christine Anderson
Assistant Professor, History
513 745-4246
Andersch@xavier.xu.edu

Soviet Jewish Emigration
Dr. Alexandra Korros
Professor, History
513 745-2040
Korros@admin.xu.edu

Spanish/Latin American History
Dr. Irene Hodgson
Professor, Modern Languages
513 745-3541
Hodgson@xavier.xu.edu

U.S. Intellectual History
Dr. Roger Fortin
Chair/Professor, History
513 745-3538
Fortin@admin.xu.edu

World War II
Dr. Richard Gruber
Associate Professor, History
513 745-3825
Gruber@admin.xu.edu



Human Resources

Affirmative Action
Dr. Arthur Shriberg
Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-4371
Shriberg@xavier.xu.edu

Employee Selection/Staffing/Recruiting
Dr. Lynda Kilbourne
Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3513
Kilbourn@xavier.xu.edu

Executive Compensation
Dr. Phil Glasgo
Associate Professor, Finance
513 745-3595
Glasgo@xavier.xu.edu

Human Resources Management
Dr. Lynda Kilbourne
Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3513
Kilbourn@xavier.xu.edu

Dr. Phil Jones
Director, Xavier Management Consulting Group/Cintas Center
513 745-3394
Jonesp@xavier.xu.edu

Hiring: Psychological Tests
Dr. Peter Bycio
Chair/Professor, Management & Entrepreneurship
513 745-2027
Bycio@xavier.xu.edu

Managerial & Employee Selection
Dr. Peter Bycio
Chair/Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-2027
Bycio@xavier.xu.edu

Dr. Robert Wubbolding
Professor, Education
513 745-1080

Organization Design, Change & Development
Dr. Lynda Kilbourne
Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3513
Kilbourn@xavier.xu.edu

Performance Appraisal Measurement
Dr. Lynda Kilbourne
Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3513
Kilbourn@xavier.xu.edu

Performance Management
Dr. Lynda Kilbourne
Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3513
Kilbourn@xavier.xu.edu

Performance Reviews
Dr. Gerald Quatman
Professor, Psychology
513 745-3536
Quatman@xavier.xu.edu

Reward and Compensation Systems
Dr. Lynda Kilbourne
Associate Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-3513
Kilbourn@xavier.xu.edu

Search Process
Dr. Luther Smith
Executive Director, Student Services
513 745-4894
Smithl@xavier.xu.edu

Turnover
Dr. Peter Bycio
Chair/Professor, Management and Entrepreneurship
513 745-2027
Bycio@xavier.xu.edu

Workforce Diversity
Dr. Nancy Bertaux
Professor, Economics & Human Resources
513 745-2930
Bertaux@xavier.xu.edu

Table of Contents
(by subject)
[A] [B] [C] [D] [E] [F] [G] [H] [I] [J] [K]
[L] [M] [N] [O] [P] [Q] [R] [S] [T] [U] [V] [W] [X] [Y] [Z]

Kelly Leon
director for media relations
Phone 513 745-3877
Fax 513 745-3070
Pager 513 269-0669
leon@xu.edu