Xavier University Department of English
Ryan Writers Series

Spring 2015 Readings

Tuesday, February 17th: Michael Davidson |7:30PM, Logan Hall 100

As a critic, Michael Davidson has produced an extraordinary body of work in the fields of modern American poetry, gender studies, and disability studies. His books include The San Francisco Renaissance: Poetics and Community at Mid-Century (1989), Ghostlier Demarcations: Modern Poetry and the Material Word (1997), Guys Like Us: Citing Masculinity in Cold War Poetics (2003), and Concerto for the Left Hand: Disability and the Defamiliar Body (2008). He is also the editor of George Oppen’s New Collected Poems. Davidson’s books of poetry include The Prose of Fact (1981), Post Hoc (1990), The Arcades (1998), and Bleed Through: New & Selected Poems (2103). He is a Distinguished Professor of American Literature at the University of California San Diego.



This reading is free & open to the public.  For more information, contact Dr. Norman Finkelstein,
745-2041; finkel@xavier.edu



Monday, March 30th: Catherine Hardy | 7:30PM Logan 100

Catherine Hardy graduated from the University of Akron (B.A. in English), Columbia University (M.F.A. in Creative Writing), and The Ohio State University (Ph.D. in English).  She taught writing, literature, and film studies for twenty-three years at the Art Academy of Cincinnati, where she also served as the Chair of the Department of Liberal Arts and as the Acting Academic Dean.  She has been awarded residencies from the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation of New Mexico and grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Greater Columbus Arts Council.  Her poetry chapbook, Red Flag Days, was published by Finishing Line Press (2014).  Her poems have appeared in numerous anthologies and magazines, including Cadence of Hooves:  A Celebration of Horses; Forklift, Ohio; Georgia State University Review; and Yale Anglers’ Journal.  She currently teaches writing at the University of Cincinnati.





Monday, April 20th: Adam Day | 7:30PM, Logan 100

Adam Day is the author of Model of a City in Civil War (Sarabande Books), and is the recipient of a Poetry Society of America Chapbook Fellowship for Badger, Apocrypha, a PEN Emerging Writers Award, and an Al Smith Fellowship from the Kentucky Arts Council. His work has appeared in Boston Review, Lana Turner, American Poetry Review, Poetry London,The Iowa Review, and elsewhere. He coordinates The Baltic Writing Residency in Latvia, Scotland, and the Bernheim Arboretum & Research Forest.







For further information about the Ryan Writers Series, contact Dr. Tyrone Williams, 513-745-2014, williamt@xavier.edu

Recent Ryan Writers Series Events

Sarah Rose Nordgren & Michael Henson, November 2014
Rachel Tzvia Back, September 2014