Xavier Film Wins Telly Award; "The Roller Derby Queens" Earns Bronze

| February 16, 2012

Cincinnati -- (Feb. 16, 2012) The Roller Derby Queens has received a 2012 Bronze Telly Award in the Cultural category in the 33rd Annual Awards. There were nearly 11,000 entries from all 50 states and numerous countries.

The documentary was part of a class in Xavier University’s Electronic Media program, which aimed to produce a high-quality video documentary worthy of presentation to local and national audiences. Assistant Professor Blis DeVault produced and directed the documentary and she and Stan Hedeen, Xavier Communications Department Chair, were executive producers. It is about the women who participate in the rough-and-tough world of local roller derby. It follows several veterans and one rookie skater as they prepare for their first home game in the Cincinnati Gardens on March 27, 2010. It presents basic history of the Cincinnati Rollergirls team, how it evolved and how the sport is played. It focuses on the women as athletes, on their passion for the sport and on their friendships.

“The 21st Century has seen a rise in popularity of the documentary,” DeVault said. “They are part of our historical and cultural landscape, and with technology becoming lighter and cheaper, more voices and stories are entering the conversation. Students learned the importance of story crafting and the research, skill and patience required to make a production of professional quality. The focus had to be on moving the story and entertaining the audience.”

Founded in 1979, the Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs, the finest video and film productions, and web commercials, videos and films. Winners represent the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators, and corporate video departments in the world. A judging panel of over 500 accomplished industry professionals uphold the Telly standard of excellence. More about the Telly Awards is at www.tellyawards.com.